COASTSIDE COUNTY WATER DISTRICT

766 MAIN STREET

HALF MOON BAY, CA 94019

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Friday, November 22, 2013

1) ROLL CALL - President Ken Coverdell called the meeting to order at 4:35 p.m. Present at roll call: Directors Chris Mickelsen and Bob Feldman and Vice-President Glenn Reynolds. David Dickson, General Manager and JoAnne Whelen, Administrative Assistant/Recording Secretary were also in attendance.

2) PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

3) PUBLIC COMMENTS: President Coverdell welcomed the candidates. The following candidates introduced themselves at this time: Arnie Glassberg, Kim Crawford, Marc Passen, and Aaron Baca. Candidates David Schorr and James Wilkinson arrived shortly after the meeting was underway. Due to a previous commitment, candidate James Howie had arranged to participate in the interview process via telephone. Candidate Alex Fielding delivered an email message to the Board at 4:25 p.m. withdrawing his interest.

4) SPECIAL ORDER OF BUSINESS

A. <u>Consideration of the Process for Filling the Vacancy on the Board of Directors</u>

Vice-President Reynolds spoke on behalf of the special advisory committee that was established at the November 12, 2013 Special Board meeting by President Coverdell for the purpose of reviewing the evaluation and selection process for filling the Board vacancy. He and Director Mickelsen summarized the results of the November 20, 2013 advisory committee meeting, recommending that the Board follow the procedure used to fill the July 2012 Board vacancy.

Brief Board discussion ensued about the interviewing, evaluation and selection process. President Coverdell then explained the interview procedure to all of the candidates, which involved a 3-minute candidate opening statement period, followed by an allowance of 3 minutes to answer each of the questions prepared by the Board members.

CCWD Special Board of Directors Meeting November 22, 2013 Page 2 of 2

The Board interviewed the candidates in this order: Kim Crawford, Aaron Baca, Marc Passen, Jim Wilkinson, Arnie Glassberg, James Howie, and David Schorr.

Board discussion followed the interviews, and the ranking of the top two candidate choices was collected and reported by Vice-President Reynolds.

ON MOTION BY Vice-President Reynolds and seconded by Director Feldman, the Board voted unanimously, by roll call vote, to adopt Resolution 2013-07 Appointing Arnie C. Glassberg to the Coastside County Water District Board of Directors to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of former Director Bryan Hannegan:

Director Mickelsen	Aye
Vice-President Reynolds	Aye
Director Feldman	Aye
President Coverdell	Aye

President Coverdell adjourned the meeting at 7:08 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

David R. Dickson, General Manager Secretary of the District

Ken Coverdell, President Board of Directors